About Thirkleby Hall Cottages
Our self catering holiday cottages are situated in the lovely parkland of Thirkleby Hall, which was the magnificent country seat of the Frankland family, many of whom were baronets and MPs for Thirsk during the 18th and 19th centuries. The elegant church at Great Thirkleby was also built by Lady Frankland Russell in 1851 as a memorial to her late husband.
The Hall passed through marriage into the Payne-Gallwey family, who lived there for many years, but sadly the family line did not survive the First World War and the estate was left without a direct male heir.
In 1919 much of the Thirkleby estate was sold at auction; Thirkleby Hall was not sold until 1927 but by this time it had fallen into a state of disrepair. It was purchased by an American gentleman who took the splendid Italian fašade to America and the rest of the Hall was demolished. It is rumoured that several local homes boast panelling that used to grace the interior of Thirkleby Hall! However, the 18th century stable block with its clock tower is still with us, together with the stone gatehouse at that is the entrance to the parkland and the fabulous cedar trees.
Thirkleby Hall is also home to a thriving flock of peacocks. No-one knows for sure where they came from, so we like to think that long, long ago an intrepid ancestor peacock escaped his fate as a dinner table delicacy and set up home in the grounds. The family decided he was too brave to be eaten so they let him stay and establish his flock, and his descendants have been with us ever since.